Tubney, Berkshire Genealogy
Guide to Tubney, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Abingdon|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1847|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Berkshire Record Office|
TUBNEY, a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Ock, county of Berks, 4¼ miles (W. by N.) from Abingdon. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tubney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - ($)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|ANC = Ancestry - ($)|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|Tubney Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Tubney in GENUKI
- Lewis,Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 398-401. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.