To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Trumbull County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Trumbull County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}Coordinates: 41.32°0′N 80.76°0′W / 41.32°N 80.76°W / 41.32; -80.76

Trumbull County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Trumbull County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Trumbull County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St. NW

Warren, Ohio 44481
Trumbull County Website



Trumbull County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1803 1837 1800 1795 1803 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Jefferson and Wayne of Northwest Territory in 1800.
  • County Seat: Warren
     

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut, who once owned the land in this region. It's county seat is Warren and was founded July 10, 1800. It is located in the Northwest area of the state.[2]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [3]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Ashtabula County  • Geauga County  • Portage County  • Mahoning County  • Lawrence County, Pennsylvania  • Mercer County, Pennsylvania  • Crawford County, Pennsylvania

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1895 A courthouse fire may have damaged or destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

See the book, Trumbull County Ohio Cemetery Inscriptions 1800-1930 compiled and published by the Trumbull County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society (1983), for a record of tombstone inscriptions found in all of the known cemeteries in the county. Several transcriptions were compiled into this one volume. Genealogy Center

Other Online Records

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
  • Brookfield
Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

County Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Allison, Calvin Grace, 19th Century Voices of Trumbull County, Ohio, (Warren, Ohio: Ohio Genealogical Society. Trumbull County Chapter, 1993). FHL book 977.138 H2a
  • Varner, Emily L., Trumbull County, Ohio, Spanning the Generations, 1795-2002, (Cortland, Ohio: Howland Printing, 2003). FHL book 977.138 D2v

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

Geauga CountyAshtabula CountyPortage CountyMahoning CountyLawrence CountyMercer CountyCrawford CountyOH TRUMBULL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Trumbull County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Trumbull County.

- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and K
- 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B, C, and I
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of The Warren-Trumball County Public Library:

Warren Tribune Chronicle:

  • Obituraries: 1900-1938
  • Obituaries: 1970, part of 1980, 1981, 1987, 2009

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County Archives

Emily Varner, Archivist. Stone Building, 118 High Street NW, Warren, OH 44481. website

The archives includes and maintains the following records:

  • Auditors Tax Duplicates 1811, 1839-1946
  • Auditors Transfer Lists 1960-1992
  • Births 1867-1908
  • Commissioners Journals 1828-1929
  • Deaths 1867-1908
  • Estates 1803-1989
  • Marriages 1800-1995
  • Mortgage Records & Indices 1850-1947
  • Probate Records 1803-1953
  • Probate/Administration Docket 1837 on
  • Probate Journals 1854-1966
  • Wills 1841-1966
Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St NW
Warren, OH 44481
Phone: 330.675.2557

Clerk Court has divorce, court and naturalization
records from 1800;  Probate Judge has marriage
and probate records; County Recorder has land records[4]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Warren-Trumbull County Public Library
Local History and Genealogy Room
444 Mahoning Avenue NW
Warren, Ohio 44483
Telephone: 330- 399-8807 ext 120

Unique collections include, among others:

WINNAGLE COLLECTION contains research materials gathered on local families by genealogist Grace Marvin Winnagle (1882-1965). A wide variety of collected data and correspondence is included.

UNUSUAL SOURCES (Records from the Ohio Penitentiary, Ohio Reformatory (Mansfield), the Ohio School for the Deaf & Dumb (Columbus), the Boys Industrial School (Lancaster) and the Girls Industrial School (Delaware) are on microfilm for the early years.)

Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Connecticut Western Reserve in northeast Ohio.png

The Connecticut Western Reserve  was a part of northeast Ohio originally intended for settlement by Revolutionary War refugees from Connecticut.[5] The former Connecticut Western Reserve  lands were in the modern counties of Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Trumbull fully, but also in parts of Ashland, Mahoning, Ottawa, Summit, and Wayne counties in Ohio.

The Research Library at the Western Reserve Historical Society History Center  is the premier repository for Cleveland, Ohio and Connecticut Western Reserve history material. One of the principal strengths is its manuscript collections.[6] The WRHS collection has original land records, genealogies of New England, New York, and Pennsylvania, biographies, histories, and family Bibles.[5]

Other Societies

Trumbull County Genealogical Society
PO Box 309
Warren, Ohio 44482

Ohio Historical Society
Archives/Library
1982 Velma Avenue
Columbus, OH 43211-2497
Telephone: 614-297-2510

Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

 Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Births[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

  • 1949-present, Abstracts. Abstracts of original divorce decrees from 7 Sep 1949 to present are maintained at the Ohio Department of Health. Records prior to this date are generally maintained in the probate court of the county in which the original marriage license was filed.
Deaths[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1808-1975, Records. The Trumbull County Archives has transcripts of each case from civil, criminal and divorce courts, in Common Pleas Court Journals and Common Pleas Court Record Books.
  • 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1867-1908. The Trumbull County Archives also has the death records for this time period indexed alphabetically on cards. Deaths were not required to be recorded until 1867.
  • 1908-1944. The Ohio Historical Society maintains death certificates for the state from 20 Dec 1908 - 31 Dec 1944.
  • 1945-present. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the death certificates for this time period.
  • 1908-1953 - Death certificates online: 1908-1953. Free name indexes and certificate images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trumbull County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/trumbull/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Trumbull County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trumbull_County,_Ohio, accessed 16 January 2019.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Trumbull County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 89. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 J54d.
  6. Family History and Genealogical Research in Western Reserve Historical Society (accessed 11 March 2015).