Trosa Stadsförsamling Parish, Södermanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Södermanland County
Trosa Stadsförsamling Parish



Guide to Trosa Stadsförsamling Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Trosa stads Church

History

Trosa was known as a town in the 14th century. In the 15th century it was an important site for merchancy, and received its city privileges in 1454 by King Charles VIII of Sweden. Due to post-glacial rebound, the city center was moved in the early 17th century, to its present location by the estuary of the Trosa River.
The city was burnt down and plundered by Russians in 1719 during the Russian Pillage of 1719-1721 and was repeatedly attacked during the Great Northern War, but the local church and poor-house was spared at every occasion.
Today Trosa is one of the top four wealthiest communities in Sweden and the general number of people living in Trosa goes up with 131% during the summer months of June–August because of the high ratio of summer residences.
[1]

Trosa Stadsförsamling Parish, Södermanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Strängnäs
Pastorat -1923 Trosa stadsförssamling, 1923-1925 Trosa landsförsamling, Vagnhärad and Trosa stadsförsamling, 1926-1961 Trosa-Vagnhärad and Trosa stadsförsamling, 1962- Trosa-Vagnhärad, Trosa stadsförsamling and Västerljung
Län 1634- Södermanland
Landskap Södermanland
Härad add here
Tingslag -1947 Trosa (under rådhusrätten), 1948-1970 Nyköpings domsaga
Domsaga -1947 Trosa (under rådhusrätten), 1948- Nyköping
Fögderi -1946 Trosa stad (under uppbördsväsendet), 1946- Nyköping
Kommun -1970 Trosa okänt år -1970, 1971-1973 Trosa, 1974- Nyköping
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Trosa Stadsförsamling is divided into "rotar" with farms numbered within each "rote". Household examinations have indexes by family names, names of servants, and names of youth being confirmed. This is according to the 1848-1854 household examination roll.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Södermanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Södermanland and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Trosa Stadsförsamling, Husförhörslängd 1848-1854, Ortregister.