Treverbyn, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cornwall
Cornwall Parishes
Treverbyn

Guide to Treverbyn, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Treverbyn, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Austell
Registration District St Austell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History

TREVERBYN, a chapelry in St. Austell parish, Cornwall; near St. Austell r. station. It was constituted in 1846.[1]

Treverbyn Parish appeared in the Domesday Book as voke lands of an ancient manor. Walter Treverbyn was Sheriff of Cornwall in 1223; the property descended through generations of family, until Henry Courtenay, Marquess of Exon and Earl of Devon, son of a Treverbyn heiress, forfeited his lands to the crown for treason against Henry VIII. Another Treverbyn heiress married into the Trevannion family, and that family retained their land holdings for more centuries, while much of Treverbyn Courtenay was sold to local families such as the Rashleighs, Sawles, and Carlyons under the Land-Tax Redemption Act. The Duchy, of course, retained its interest[s] in the land as well.

As the soil of the parish was thinly spread over a granite base, farming was very difficult. However, tin and copper did exist, so many followed three or four occupations, tinning as well as farming and perhaps shop-keeping, etc.

After the discovery of the importance of china clay (a by-product of granite), Treverbyn changed immensely. The clay mines expanded, causing hamlets and villages to disappear, while "The Cornish Alps" - looming mountains of pure white clay residue - were raised. (These were also called 'clay tips'.) Other abodes changed names; Carne Rosemary became Bugle, while Greensplat became a hole.

Resources

Church Records

Treverbyn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cornwall Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Mar = England, Devon and Cornwall Marriages, 1660-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
OPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerk - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
RW = RootsWeb - free
FMP = Cornwall Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Cornwall Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Treverbyn Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2010
1538-2010
1538-2010
FS Mar

1660-1912


FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
OPC 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
RW 1848-1901
1850-1900
1850-1903
FMP 1538-1916
1538-1839
1538-1928
TGEN 1540-1800s
1537-1800s


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.

Treverbyn was considered part of St. Austell parish until 1848, when that parish was divided into 3. Records before that date appear under St. Austell; the St. Austell Genealogical and Historical Website has transcriptions of manorial records as well as church registers, and newspaper articles regarding the dissolution of Treverbyn Trevannion in the 1850s. Be sure to check there for records prior to 1848.

St. Peter's Church of England was built in 1850; the parish registers commence from that date, and have been transcribed.

Non Conformist Records

Trethurgy Methodist Chapel registers are transcribed and available as described above, as well as many Methodist circuits.

Burials have been made in the church graveyard, which contains 308 memorials, located near the Primary School, on Treverbyn Road, since its establishment. The Treverbyn Cemetery, located next to the Primary School, contains 1550 memorials, is of a more-current vintage, and remains open to this day.

CFHS has conducted a survey of Memorial Inscriptions in this cemetery; please contact them via their website for details.

There were many non-conformist chapels throughout the parish, including Methodist chapels at Rescorla, Stenalees, Molinnis, Greensplat, Trelowth, and Sticker. There was a Bible Christian chapel at Bugle, and another at Carthew. Many have been re-purposed or closed, and records have been lost. However, those that remain have been largely transcribed and put on the St. Austell website for free access.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Poor Law Union

Treverbyn was a participant in the St Austell Poor Law Union.  

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


All Cornish census entries 1841 through 1891 have been transcribed by volunteers and checked by 2 additional persons conversant with the names in the area; they're available online for free. As the names were transcribed as written, and some writing was very difficult to decipher, be sure to check for alternative spellings! Census data 1841 through 1891 is online for free at free cen.

The 1901 census is available online for a fee.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Treverbyn in GENUKI

St. Austell Genealogy and History

Free website with all baptism, marriage, and burial records from various sources, as well as many Manorial records, court cases, Tithe Index, and photographs of the parish, as well as the 1810 Ordnance survey map; site built and maintained by the St. Austell OPC.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

Free Database containing some of the same material as above, which covers all of Cornwall,and links to people willing to help researchers within individual parishes.

FreeBMD

Registrar's Index from July 1 1837 to current day - indicates Quarter and DISTRICT in which the event was registered; Information can be used to order certificate copies

FreeCens-UK - transcriptions of all the Cornish census records,

1841 to 1891, checked by 3 people; uses original spelling, so please be sure to try various spelling alternatives.

References

"CORNWALL and It's People", A.K. Hamilton-Jenkin, David & Charles, London, 1945; 1988

"ST. AUSTELL: Church, Town, and Parish", A.L. Rowse, H.E. Warne, LTD, 1960

"ST. AUSTELL, A Cornish Parish" Canon Joseph Hammond,L.L.B., Skeffington & Son, London, 1897

"A CORNISH CHILDHOOD" A.L. ROWSE, Clarkson N. Potter, Inc/Crown Publishers Inc, New York. 1942 & 1979

"HISTORIC CORNWALL - St. Austell" , Kate Newell, Historic Environmental Service, Cornwall County Council, 2004, at http://www.historic-cornwall.org.uk/csus/towns/staustell/staustell [If this address does not work, go to historic-cornwall.org.uk, and click on Cornwall and Scilly Urban Survey, then "towns"; you can then enter "St. Austell" to see the reports and download a map of the area circa 1907]

"The Archaeology of the St. Austell China Clay Area" P. Herring and J. Smith, Historic Environment Service, Cornwall County Council, 1991


  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk