Tremaine, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tremaine, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Winwallow Tremaine contributor Derek Harper.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TREMAYNE, a parish, in the union of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 6¾ miles WNW from Launceston.[1]

Tremaine (Cornish: Treven), (or Tremayne) St Winwaloe is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1719 from chapelry in Egloskerry, Cornwall Ancient Parish.

The parish church, St Winwaloe, stands in the village at OS Grid Ref SX234890. It is a Norman building but some of the windows are later, but the font is Norman. The modern parish is part of the Egloskerry, North Petherwin, Tremaine and Tresmere, United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Tremaine, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Tremaine, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1612-1673, 1727-1812

COPC 1612-1672, 1726-1911 (gaps)
1612-1910
1612-1673, 1727-1911 (gaps)
FMP 1674-1874 1614-1837 1813-1836
FREG
1674-1812

FS PRs 1726-1906 1726-1910 1726-1900
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN
1674-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 229

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish https://www.opc-cornwall.org/Par_new/t_z/tremaine.php

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:

Websites[edit | edit source]

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 390-392. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.