Traverse County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Traverse County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Wheaton[1]
Organized: February 14, 1881[2]
Parent County(s): Pierce (extinct), Unorganized territory[3]
Neighboring Counties
Big Stone  • Grant  • Richland (ND)  • Roberts (SD)  • Stevens  • Wilkin
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Traverse County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Traverse County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Lake Traverse. The County is located in the west-central area of the state. [4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Traverse County Courthouse
702 2nd Ave N
PO Box 487
Wheaton, MN 56296
Phone: 320-422-7752
Traverse County Website

Clerk District Court has birth, marriage, death, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1881.[5]

Traverse County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1881 1881 1881 1881 1881 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Traverse County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 13
1880 1,507 11492.3%
1890 4,516 199.7%
1900 7,573 67.7%
1910 8,049 6.3%
1920 7,943 −1.3%
1930 7,938 −0.1%
1940 8,283 4.3%
1950 8,053 −2.8%
1960 7,503 −6.8%
1970 6,254 −16.6%
1980 5,542 −11.4%
1990 4,463 −19.5%
2000 4,134 −7.4%
2010 3,558 −13.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Traverse County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Wilkin CountyGrant CountyStevens CountyBig Stone CountyRoberts CountyRichland County250PX
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Online Archive Records

  • Inventory of the county archives of Minnesota, no. 78, Traverse County (Wheaton) St. Paul, MN 1938. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Traverse County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Traverse County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Wheaton Community Library
901 1st Avenue North
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8487
E-mail: jpeeples@wheatoncommunitylibrary.org
Website

Browns Valley Public Library
PO Box 307
15 3rd Street South
Browns Valley, MN 56219
320-695-2318
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Traverse County Historical Society Museum
1201 Broadway
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8520
E-mail: cjuelich@frontiernet.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Traverse County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Traverse County Historical Society
1201 Broadway
Wheaton, MN 56296
320-563-8520
E-mail: cjuelich@frontiernet.net
Website

Browns Valley Historical Society
PO Box 13
Browns Valley, MN 56219
320-695-2312
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 8 March 20121.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Traverse County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traverse_County,_Minnesota accessed 15 Nov 2018
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 8 March 2021.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Traverse County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traverse_County,_Minnesota, accessed 04 March 2020.