Transylvania County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Untied States
North Carolina
Transylvania County

Guide to Transylvania County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Transylvania County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Transylvania County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1861
County Seat Brevard
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaTransylvaniaCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Transylvania Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Transylvania County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1913
1861
1870
1861
1861


Transvylvania County Courthouse
12 E Main St P O box 417
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 828-884-3162

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
marriage and land records from 1861 and military records
Clerk Superior  Court has divorce, probate and court records[1]

Register of Deeds
20 East Morgan Street, Suite 2
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 828-884-3162
Fax: 828-877-3118
Website

Clerk Superior Court
7 E Main St
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: (828) 885-3000

History

Parent County

1861--Transylvania County was created from Henderson and Jackson Counties.
County seat: Brevard [2]

Boundary Changes

From 1789-1820, there was a boundary dispute between North Carolina and Georgia for a county known as Walton County. It was located in what is now Transylvania County, North Carolina, and the dispute was serious enough that the two states  dispatched their militias in what was known as Walton's War. See copy of Map under below collections. Read more about Walton's War.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Nctransylvania.png

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Transylvania County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Directories

  • Several NC state business directories are available online.  Visit this list of directories, open the directory, and navigate to Transylvania County.  Directories include information on area businesses and citizens.

Education

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Transylvania County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Transylvania County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Births
Marriages
Divorce
Deaths

Societies and Libraries 

Transylvania Genealogical Society
189 West Main St.
PO Box 2347
Brevard, NC 28712
Website

Old Buncombe County Genealogical Society
PO Box 2122
Asheville, NC 28802-2122

Transylvania County Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 2061
Brevard, NC 28712
website



Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Transylvania County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.