Tottington, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Tottington, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wayland|
|Parish registers: 1711|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
TOTTINGTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wayland, W. division of Norfolk, 3¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Watton. 
Tottington St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Tottington, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Tottington, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held Norfolk Record Office reference PD 157/ 1-8
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication
| Baptisms and burials 1602-1607, 1630, 1670-1687, 1709-1812 Marriages 1602-1606, 1630, 1670-1676, 1710-1812
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526739 Item 11
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Tottington on GenUKI