To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tonawanda, Erie County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tonawanda, New York)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tonawanda, Erie ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

City/Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Tonawanda, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). Archive.org; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


History[edit | edit source]

Additional Resources:

Erie County, New York History

Genealogical Resources: History of Tonawanda, NY

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

City of Tonawanda Public Library
333 Main Street
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: 716-693-5043
Fax: 716-693-0825

Tonawanda-Kenmore Historical Society Museum
100 Knoche Road
Tonawanda, NY 14150-2129
Phone: (716) 873-5744 (April - October)

Historical Society of the Tonawandas Museum
113 Main Street
Tonawanda, NY, 14150-2129
Phone: 716-694-7406
Email: tonahist@gmail.com
Publishes Lumber Shorer.[1]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Tonawanda - Kenmore Historical Society
100 Knoche Road
Tonawanda, NY 14150
716-992-3960[1]

Historical Society of the Tonawandas, Inc113 Main Street
Tonawanda, NY, 14150-2129
Phone: (716) 694-7406
Email: tonahist@gmail.com

City Clerk[edit | edit source]

Janice Bodie, Clerk
200 Niagara Street
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: 716-695-8318
Email: jbodie@ci.tonawanda.ny.us

City Historian[edit | edit source]

Ned Schimminger, Historian[2]
605 Niagara Street
Tonawanda, NY 14150
Phone: 716-694-7406

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Tonawanda, Clerk
Municipal Building
2919 Delaware Avenue
Room 14
Kenmore, NY 14217
Phone: 716-877-8800
Fax; (716) 877-0578
Email: cchamplin@tonawanda.ny.us

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

John W. Percy, Historain[2]
378 Woodland Drive
Tonawanda, NY 14223-1643
Email: kentonhistory@hotmail.com

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub., 2009), 405. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places[edit | edit source]