Tom Green County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Tom Green County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Tom Green County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 13, 1874|
|County Seat||San Angelo|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Obituaries
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Thomas Green, a Confederate brigadier general. The County is located in the west-central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Tom Green County has had five courthouses and two county seats. When the county was first organized, the town of Ben Ficklin was chosen as the county seat and an adobe building was used as a courthouse. A stone courthouse was soon built. After the town was destroyed by a flood in 1882, the county seat was moved to the larger and more centrally located San Angelo, where the third Tom Green Courthouse was completed in 1884. The current courthouse was built in 1928.
Tom Green County Courthouse
124 West Beauregard Avenue
San Angelo, Texas 76903-5850
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and court records from 1875 and
land records from 1860
124 W. Beauregard
San Angelo 76903
112 W. Beauregard
San Angelo 76903
Tom Green County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
The original Tom Green County extended to the Pecos River and covered 12,500 square miles. Twelve other counties have been created from this area. The first white settler arrived in 1864. Ben Ficklin was almost washed away in 1882.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1874--Tom Green County was created 13 March 1874 from Bexar Land District.
- County seat: San Angelo 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
1876 -- When Tom Green County was created in 1874, the county had no northern boundary. On 21 August 1876, a northern boundary was created - drawn from the northwest corner of Runnels County to the New Mexico state line and cutting off territory for 54 counties to the north of Tom Green County.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1882 -- Ben Ficklin, then the county seat, was destroyed by flood, the recently-built stone courthouse, however, was one of the few buildings that was still standing. An older adobe building used as the first courthouse was destroyed in the flood.
1886 -- The second floor of the Tom Green County Courthouse caught fire on June 28, 1886, possibly from mice eating matches. The fire started in the office of the Clerk of District Courts. Many of the records in the clerk's office were destroyed. 
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots Project ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestor Genealogy
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||FamilySearch Places|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Cemetery Books available from the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society:
- Belvedere Memorial Park Cemetery book, 1993, 110 pages including index.
- Calvary Catholic Cemetery book, 49 pages including an index.
- Fairmount Cemetery book, 2001, 710 pages including surname index.
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Tom Green County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The History of Tom Green County, Texas, 1931 by Julia Grace Bitner.
- No Country For Dull Men, Excerpts from the San Angelo Standard, 1884-1885, published by the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society, 2010. 327 pages including name and subject index, 1880 images of San Angelo, area maps, and 1880 plot maps of San Angelo, Midland and Sherwood, Texas. Available from the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society
- 1890 Records of Tom Green County, Texas, Includes the 1890 tax list (property by residents living outside Tom Green County, unrendered property, railroads), marriages for the year 1890, probate records for the year 1890, plus the 1890 census of servicemen and widows. Published by the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society, 1990, 161 pages including index. Available from the San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society
- Tom Green County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Tom Green County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1834-1931 Texas Formation Maps ~ TXGenWeb
- 1836-1930 Texas Census Maps ~ TXGenWeb
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Camps and Forts of Tom Green County ~ TXGenWeb
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tom Green County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- San Angelo Standard Times
- Christoval Observer
- San Angelo Enterprise
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Tom Green County Obituaries ~ TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2005 Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1850-1930 USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
San Angelo Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 3453
San Angelo, TX 76902-3453
Tom Green County Historical Society
PO Box 5602
San Angelo, TX 76903
- Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Tom Green County Library System
113 W Beauregard Ave
San Angelo, TX 76903
Telephone Number: 325-655-7321
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Tom Green County ~ TXGenWeb
- Tom Green County Archives ~ TXGenWeb Archives
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Tom Green, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Green_County,_Texas. accessed 11/26/2019
- Handbook of Texas Online: Tom Green County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hct07
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tom Green County, Texas. Page 674 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tom Green County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Ben Ficklin, TX Concho River Flood, Aug 1882 http://www.gendisasters.com/texas/22063/ben-ficklin-tx-area-concho-river-flood-aug-1882
- GenDisasters.com San Angelo, TX Tom Green County Courthouse Fire, Jun 1886 http://www.gendisasters.com/texas/17830/san-angelo-tx-tom-green-county-courthouse-fire-jun-1886
- Wikipedia contributors, "Tom Green County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Green_County,_Texas, Last accessed 26 August 2019.