Tollesbury, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Tollesbury


Guide to Tollesbury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tollesbury, Essex
Tollesbury St-Mary Essex.jpg
Tollesbury St-Mary Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hatfield Peverel
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Tollesbury (St Mary), is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Maldon district, Essex. The village is 7 miles E by N of Maldon railway station. It has a post-office under Kelvedon. The parish includes part of Tiptree-Heath chapelry. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tollesbury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Tollesbury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1558-1946
1558-1957
1558-1904

Tollesbury Congregational Church registers reference D/NC 56

Tollesbury Conrgeational Church contributor William Metcalfe.jpg
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tollesbury on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 16 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.