Tollard Royal, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Tollard Royal

Guide to Tollard Royal, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Part of this parish is in Wiltshire. See also Tollard Royal, Wiltshire.
Tollard Royal, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chalk; Cranborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Tisbury
Registration District Tisbury; Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1689
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

TOLLARD-ROYAL, a parish, partly in Wimborne district, Dorset, and partly in Tisbury district, Wilts, 7 miles S of Tisbury railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

For church records, see Tollard Royal Farm with Allenford.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2103.