Tolland County, Connecticut Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Connecticut
Tolland County

Guide to Tolland County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Tolland County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting Tolland County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded October 13, 1786
County Seat Rockville
Courthouse
Address 69 Brooklyn Street
Rockville, CT 06066-3643
Phone: 860.875.6294
Tolland County Website


County Information

Description

  • Named for the hamlet of Tolland, Somerset, England.
  • The County is located in the north central area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse

  • Town clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records
  • Probate Judge has probate records
  • Clerk of the Superior Court has court records.[2]

Tolland County, Connecticut

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Tolland County, Connecticut

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Bolton 1730,
Coventry 1712,
Ellington 1786,
Hevron 1708,
Mansfield 1702,
Somers 1734,
Stafford 1719,
Tolland 1715,
Union 1734,
Vernon 1716,
Willington 1727.

  • Connecticut no longer has county governments
  • Local government is at the town level.


Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: West part of Windham county was used to create Tolland County 13 Oct 1786.[2]
  • County Seat: The county seat has none since 1960 and the county was created 1785.

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[3]

Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
  • Central Somers
Census-designated places
Ghost towns
  • Rockville


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1903).  Includes fullname index (in part 1 for pts. 1 and 2).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 and 2, or FHL US/CAN Film 982349.
  • J.R. Cole, History of Tolland County, Connecticut including its early settlement and progress to the present time; a description of its historic and interesting localities; sketches of its towns and villages: portraits of some of its prominent men, and biographies of many of its representative citizens, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1035602 Item 3.
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Genealogical Society. Volunteer Aids, Index to Commemorative biographical record of Tolland and Windham counties, Connecticut, part 1, Manuscript.  Includes fullname index to part 1 but only through pt. 1's page 602.  Available online at ancestry.com$.  Available in the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.64 D3c pt. 1 index.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Tolland County, Connecticut online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Connecticut Cemeteries for more information

 

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 13,251
1800 14,319 8.1%
1810 13,779 −3.8%
1820 14,330 4.0%
1830 18,702 30.5%
1840 17,980 −3.9%
1850 20,091 11.7%
1860 20,709 3.1%
1870 22,000 6.2%
1880 24,112 9.6%
1890 25,081 4.0%
1900 24,523 −2.2%
1910 26,459 7.9%
1920 27,216 2.9%
1930 28,659 5.3%
1940 31,866 11.2%
1950 44,709 40.3%
1960 68,737 53.7%
1970 103,440 50.5%
1980 114,823 11.0%
1990 128,699 12.1%
2000 136,364 6.0%
2010 152,691 12.0%
Source: Wikipedia.org".

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

For tips on accessing Tolland County, Connecticut Genealogy census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Church Records

  • Connecticut Genealogy, Tolland County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes church and vital records.
  • Tolland County, Connecticut, church papers, 1760-1861 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977).  Contains lists of pastors in Tolland County churches, a copy of the Connecticut Courant, Nov. 21, 1815, a list of members of the Vernon Church and of the Vernon Ecclesiastical Society and other miscellaneous papers.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1014187 Item 3.

Court Records

  • Tolland County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Grace Louise Knox & Barbara B. Ferris, Connecticut divorces Superior Court records for the counties of New London, Tolland & Windham, 1719-1910 , (Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books, c1987).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 P2k.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Tolland County), Depositions, 1892-1893 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  A record of depositions taken for a trial in the Superior Court, Tolland County, Connecticut. Depositions have to do with the suit of George W. Adams, of Tolland County, Connecticut, vs. Charles I. Rawson, of Oxford, Massachusetts.  Available at the Family History Library,FHL US/CAN Film 1637443 Item 1.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Tolland County), Executions, A-Z, 1772-1891 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  A record of executions of court judgements.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1637443 Item 2.

Directories

  • Rockville (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, [1992?]).   Available at the Family History Library, Vault US/CAN Film 2156522 Item 1. (3 Films covering a variety of years between 1883-1934.)

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Tolland County Genealogy 679 Tolland county genealogy record sources.
  • Walter Everett Corbin, Lottie S. Corbin and Robert J. Dunkle, The Corbin Collection, (Boston, Massachusetts : New England Historic Genealogical Society, c2003-c2005).  3 CD's available on the desktop at the Family History Library, Computer US/CAN Desktop CD-ROM no. 2644 v. 1, and CD-ROM no. 2644 v.2 and CD-ROM no. 2644 v. 3.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division,Tolland County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1857 , (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).  Available online at flickr from yahoo, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079304.

Local Histories

  • Linkpendium, History, Tolland County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Loren P. Waldo, The early history of Tolland an address delivered before the Tolland County Historical Society, at Tolland, Conn., on the 22d day of August and 27th day of September, 1861, (Hartford [Connecticut] : Case, Lockwood, 1861).   Includes index.  Includes sketches of family history.  Available online at Google Books, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.643/T1 H2w, or FHL US/CAN Film 1033531 Item 1.
  • Google Timeline, Tolland County, Connecticut History 1600-2011, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

See Biographies for further sources.

Maps and Gazetteers

Worcester CountyHampden CountyHartford CountyMiddlesex CountyNew London CountyWindham County,CT TOLLAND.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Tolland

Migration

Military Records

American Revolution

Civil War

Service men from New Haven County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men from the following companies were from Windham County.

  1. 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D
  2. 25th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Connecticut. Superior Court and County Court (Tolland County),  Declarations of intention, 1853-1914 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Includes some records of the County Court, 1853-1856.  Available at the Family History Library, 1853-1906 FHL US/CAN Film 1319927 Items 2-3, and 1906-1914 FHL US/CAN Film 1319930 Item 2.
  • Connecticut. City Court (Hartford), Naturalization record book, 1876-1876, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Contains petitions for naturalization for persons from the city of Hartford, or nearby towns of Hartford and Tolland counties. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398567 Item 5.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court and County Court (Tolland County), Naturalization records (Tolland County, Connecticut), 1853-1945; naturalization index, 1853-1955 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983-2008).  Additional indexes are found within each volume.  Includes some records of the County Court, 1853-1855.   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1319928. (11 Films)

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1883-1942 - Tolland County. (Connecticut). Coroner, Coroner's records, 1883-1942, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1602846 Item 3, 1st of 3 films.

Divorce Records

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Tolland County), Divorce papers, 1787-1910 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Records are in approximate alphabetical order.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1637443 Item 3, first of 16 films.


See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Andover Historical Society
Andover, Ct 06232.
E-Mail: SYeom98658@aol.com
Website

Bolton Historical Society
Bolton, CT 06043.
E-Mail: historian@boltoncthistory.org
Website

Ellington Historical Society
70 Main Street
PO Box 73
Ellington CT 06029
E-mail: genealogist@ellingtonhistsoc.org
Website

Hebron Historical Society
P. O. Box 43
Hebron, CT 06248-0043
E-Mail: membeship@hebronhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Mansfield Historical Society
P.O. Box 145
954 Storrs Road
Storrs, CT 06268-0145
860 429-6575
Website

Somers Historical Society
11 Battle Street
P.O. Box 652
Somers, Connecticut 06071
Website


Vernon Historical Society P.O. Box 2055
734 Hartford Turnpike (Route 30)
Vernon, CT 06066
860-875-4326
E-Mail: vernonhs@sbcglobal.net
Website


Willington Historical Society
P.O. Box 214
Willington, CT 06279
E-Mail: willingtohistorian@charter.net
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tolland County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tolland_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Wikipedia contributors,"Tolland County, Connecticut, " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tolland_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 12 October 2018.