Toddington, Bedfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Toddington, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Toddington, Bedfordshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ancient Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Manshead |
| County | Bedfordshire |
| Poor Law Union | Luton |
| Registration District | Luton |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1559 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1602 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Dunstable |
| Diocese | Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford |
| Location of Archive | |
| Bedfordshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
TODDINGTON (St. George), a market-town and parish, in the union of Woburn, hundred of Manshead, county of Bedford, 5 miles (N.) from Dunstable. The Wesleyans and Baptists have each a place of worship. [1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Toddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FS = FamilySearch - free | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast - ($) | |||||
| ANC = Ancestry - ($) | |||||
| GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free | |||||
| NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free | |||||
| BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free | |||||
| IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2] | |||||
| FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free | |||||
| FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free |
| Toddington Online Parish Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
| ||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | |
1538-1973 | |
1538-1991 | |
| FMP | 1538-1975 | |
1538-1973 | |
1538-1991 | |
| ANC | 1530-1980 | |
1538-1988 | |
|
|
| GIBBS | 1837-1901 | |
1837-1901 | |
1837-1901 | |
| NBI | |
|
|
|
1558-1852 | |
| BOYD | |
|
1538-1850 | |
|
|
| IGI | 1540-1812,1683-1865,1813-1875, 1888-1894 |
|
1558-1866,1866-1895 | |
|
|
| FS Catalog PRs | |
1558-1945 | |
1558-1945 | |
1558-1945 |
| FS Catalog BTs | |
1605-1853 | |
1605-1853 | |
1605-1853 |
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches
- Wesleyan
- Independent
- Baptists
- Primitive Methodists
- Particular Baptists
- Roman Catholic
Census records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Woburn
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
Toddington on GENUKI
References
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-372. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
