Tiverton, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tiverton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tiverton, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tiverton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Cove beginning 1680 and for Chevithorne beginning 1843 and for Withleigh beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tiverton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TIVERTON (St. Peter), a borough, market-town, and parish, possessing exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Tiverton, Collumpton and N. divisions of Devon, 14 miles (N. by E.) from Exeter. A handsome edifice in the Grecian style was erected in 1730, as a chapel of ease; it is dedicated to St. George, and each of the four portionists officiates in turn. St. Thomas' chapel, Chevythorne, was consecrated in June 1843; it was built by subscription, aided by a grant from the Diocesan Society. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Tiverton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Tiverton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1605-1812
1605-1635, 1667-1812


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Tiverton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 366-369. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.