To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tishomingo County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tishomingo County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Iuka
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession[1]
Variant Spellings: Iuka frequently misspelled as Luka
Neighboring Counties
Alcorn  • Colbert (AL)  • Franklin (AL)  • Hardin (TN)  • Itawamba  • Lauderdale (AL)  • Prentiss
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiTishomingoCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Tishomingo County.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for Chief Tishomingo. Tishomingo County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Tishomingo County Courthouse
1008 Battleground Drive
Iuka, MS 38852-1020
Phone: 662-423-7010
Tishomingo County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, court and land records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records.[3]

Tishomingo County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1842 1 Nov 1912 1856 1836 1836 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1836 Tishomingo County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Iuka[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Tishomingo County, Mississippi:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Tishomingo County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Tishomingo County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Tishomingo County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

McNairy CountyHardin CountyWayne CountyLauderdale CountyColbert CountyFranklin CountyAlcorn CountyPrentiss CountyItawamba CountyMS TISHOMINGO.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Tishomingo County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tishomingo County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company H - James Creek Volunteers
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company F - Reason’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
Company L - Lowry’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A – Tishomingo Riflemen
Company K – Iuka Rifles
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company D - Carter’s Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company A - Corinth Rifles 9 (also listed as Co. C)
- 32nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - Tishomingo Avengers, aka Tishomingo Rifles
Company B - W.R. Nelson Guards
Company G - Lowrey Invincibles
Company H - Beauregard Rifles
Company I - Johnston Avengers
Company K - Buckner Boys

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War Battles were fought in Tishomingo County

  • April 29-June 10, 1862 Corinth[6]
  • September 19, 1862 Iuka[7]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Mississippi.

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Tishomingo County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Tishomingo County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Old Tishomingo County Courthouse Museum
    203 East Quitman Street
    Iuka, MS 38852
    Phone: 662-423-3500
    Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Tishomingo County Historical and Genealogical Society
    PO Box 273
    203 East Quitman Street
    Iuka, MS 38852
    Phone: 662-423-3500
    Website
    Search for free birth and obituary records.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Tishomingo, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tishomingo_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tishomingo County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.