Tisbury, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Tisbury

Guide to Tisbury, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tisbury, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunworth
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Tisbury
Registration District Tisbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chalke
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

TISBURY (St. John the Baptist), a small town with two parishes and sub-district, district, in the county of Wiltshire (Wilts). It is located in the union and hundred of Dunworth, Hindon. It is 14 miles W of Salisbury and 3½ miles(S. E.) from Hindon.[1][2]

The town stands on a declivity, adjacent to the river Nadder, and to the London, Yeovil, and Exeter railway. There are also Independent and Wesleyan chapels.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tisbury, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Tisbury, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1599-1827

NBI

1563-1837
NIM 1562-1837
1563-1837
1562-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Accessed 29 Jan 2013
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.