Tippah County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Tippah County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Tippah County, Mississippi|
Location in the state of Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
|Founded||9 February, 1836|
|Address|| Tippah County Courthouse|
PO Box 99;
Ripley, MS 38663
Tippah County Courthouse
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for a Chickasaw language word meaning "cut off." It was taken from the creek of the same name. The County has Ripley as its seat and the County was created 1836. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
Tippah County, Mississippi Record Dates
NOTE: A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Mississippi Tippah County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
1836--Tippah County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
County seat: Ripley 
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1863--Some records were lost.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1805 - 1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1660 - 1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1792 - 1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry.com — index $
For tips on accessing Tippah County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Tippah County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1889-1942 - Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch — images
- 1900-1974 - Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch — images
- Men from Tippah County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tippah County.
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
- Company K - Beauregard Relief
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans [Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s]
- Company E - McDowell’s Company
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
- Company A - Citizen Guards
- Company K - Pettus Rangers
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company B – O’Connor Rifles
- Company D – Joe Matthews
- Company F – Magnolia Rifles
- Company L – Liberty Guards
- - 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
- Company F - Tippah Highlanders
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company G - Daniel’s Company
- - 7th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Forrest Cavalry, aka Ford’s Company
- Company B - Hovis’ Company
- Company C - Green’s Company
- Company D - Holcomb’s Company
- Company E - Buncomb’s Fighting Cocks, aka Rogers’ Company
- Company F - Duncan’s Company
- Company G - Stancill’s Company, aka Garrett’s Company, and aka White’s Company
- Company H - Wheeler’s Company, aka Polk’s/Park’s Company
- Company I - McKenzie’s Company, aka Young’s Company
- Company L - Garrett’s Company
- - 32nd Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company E - Hatchie Tigers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tippah County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- 1780 – 1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1781 – 1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch — images
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
- 1776 - 1935 - Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1800 - 1911 - Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch.org — index
- to 1825 - Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 1900 - Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 1850 - Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1858 - 1979 - Mississippi, Tippah County Marriages, 1858-1979 at FamilySearch — index
- 1858 - 1899 - Tippah County Marriages 1858-1899. Courtesy: MSGenWeb - free.
- 1858 - 1918 - Tippah County Marriage Books 1-10 Index 1858-1918 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
A wiki article describing an online collectons is found at:
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Tippah County Historical and Genealogical Society
Commerce Street, Ripley, MS 38663
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Tippah County, MS History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wikipedia contributors, "Tippah, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tippah_County,_Mississippi."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tippah County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.