To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tintwistle, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tintwistle, Cheshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tintwistle, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tintwistle, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TINTWISTLE, is a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Mottram parish, Cheshire. The village stands 1 mile NW of Hadfield railway station, and 5 miles E of Staleybridge: and has a post-office under Manchester. The township includes Arnfield hamlet: includes also, for poor-rate purposes, Micklehurst hamlet. The church was built in 1837. There are Independent and Wesleyan chapels.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Tintwistle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Tintwistle Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1854-1882
1839-1910
1837-1893
FMP Diocese BTs 1854-1882
1839-1910
1837-1893
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association.

Non-Conformist records:

Tintwistle Chapel (Cheshire : Independent) RG-4 series nos. 3533, 2153.

Church records, 1747-1828 Tintwistle Chapel (Cheshire : Independent)
Film
Church records
20053 Items 5-6
Another filming of births and baptisms, 1827-1837. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482409 Item 5

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Tintwistle, 1839-1966:Microfilm copy of original registers filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Tintwistle, 1839-1966
Film
Baptisms, 1839-1966 (Title board dates are incorrect).
2357129 Item 8

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Tintwistle Branch Record of members, 1842-1857: Microfilm of original records in the Church Archives, Salt Lake City.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Tintwistle Branch Record of members, 1842-1857
Film
Record of members, 1842-1857
87043 Item 1

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Ashton under Lyne (1837-1937)
  • Hyde (1937-74)
  • High Peak (1974+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Ashton under Lyne

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Tintwistle on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.