Tinn Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
(Redirected from Tinn Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Tinn, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records/
| Tinn Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | Tinn |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | Tinn |
| Fogderi | Øvre Telemarken |
| Sorenskriveri | Øvre Telemarken østfjeldske |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Tinn clerical district contains kirkebøker from the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi (Østbygde), Mæl and Rjukan with Dal. Included Hovin parish until 1859 when it was annexed to Gransherad clerical district. See Hjartdal clerical district (film 126944 book 1) for a few entries for the year 1692.
- The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1717-1932.
- Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers for Tinn clerical district, including Attraa (Atrå) parish, Mæl annex, Dal annex, and Hovin annex. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Tinn clerical district, including Attraa (Atrå) parish, Mæl annex, Dal annex and Hovin annex. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1730: A special 1730 census exists for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Hovin, and Dal. It includes the farm name, head of household, sometimes his wife, children, servants, and other people staying on the farm, age, sex and some miscellaneous information. Microfilm images are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A printed PDF file is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1782: A special 1782 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Hovin, and Dal, used to be available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives), but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, a link will be provided here.
- 1801: The 1801 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Hovin, and Dal, is available at the microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865: The 1865 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Ryukan, and Dal, is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: The 1875 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Ryukan, and Dal, is available at Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891: The 1891 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Ryukan and Dal. is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900: The 1900 census for Tinn clerical district, which at this time period included the parishes Atrå, Austbygdi, Mæl, Ryukan, and Dal, is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration Records[edit | edit source]
Utvandrare frå Tinn 1837-1907 (Emigrants from Tinn 1837-1907).
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet
Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1866 Family History Library
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
