To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Timsbury, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Timsbury, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Timsbury, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Timsbury, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred King's Sombourn
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Romsey
Registration District Romsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TIMSBURY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Romsey, hundred of King's-Sombourn, Andover and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 2½ miles (N. by W.) from Romsey.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Timsbury, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
TIMSBURY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1564-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1861
1564-1861
1780-1861

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy from Periodicals
[edit | edit source]

Extract From Hampshire Pritchard Tree (Whole Dates From 1694). A Pritchard Family tree starting 1824-1988, mainly descendants of James Pritchard and Sarah Tarrant, other parishes mentioned are Braishfield, Longparish, Michelmersh and Timsbury. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 32, no. 2 Sept 2005, page 116. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Reference
[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 360-362. Date accessed: 04 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.