What is the Timeline Grid?[edit | edit source]
The timeline grid is a research tool that makes it easy to track your research findings. It also allows you to view your research findings in a compact and readable format so you can use them for further research.
The timeline grid is usually made by creating a table in a word processor, but it can also be created in a spreadsheet. Templates are available here. One can also print a copy and hand write the information. However, this does not allow for advanced uses (see below).
Because the timeline grid is based on the census, it’s most helpful for countries and time periods with regular census enumerations. It uses columns for vital information and each census, and rows for each family member.
What Does it Look Like?[edit | edit source]
Below is a blank timeline grid in its simplest form. Key features:
- It centers on one nuclear family; that is, a father, mother, and their children.
- The first column can be used for an identifying number, such as a FamilySearch Person ID (PID), as well as birth, marriage, and death information for the individual on each row
- The headers for each census column contain the census name and year, the enumeration district, the county/shire, the image number, and the residence address, if available.
|ID & Vitals
As you find information for each individual in your research, you add it to the appropriate cell on the grid. A completed timeline grid might look something like this:
Ann Gunton (1839) and Thomas Guy
Ann is the daughter of Matthew Gunton and Ann Middleton
|ID & Vitals||
District 11, Doddington, Cambridgeshire (image 24)
District 11, Doddington, Cambridgeshire (image 23)
District 11, Doddington, Cambridgeshire (image 18)
District 8, Doddington, Cambridgeshire (image 12)
b abt 1833
|Thomas Guy, head, mar, 38, farmer 16 acres, Manea, Cambs
||Thomas Guy, head, mar, 48, Farmer 24 acres, Doddington, Cambs
||Thomas Guy, head, mar, 57, farmer, Manea, Cambs
||Thomas Guy, head, mar, 68, farmer, Doddington, Cambs|
|Ann, wife, mar, 31, Chatteris, Cambs
||Ann, wife, mar, 41, Chatteris, Cambs
||Ann, wife, mar, 53, Chatteris, Cambs
||Ann, wife, mar, 62, Chatteris, Cambs|
|William Carter Guy
|William C, son, 1, Doddington, Cambs
||William Carter, son, 11, scholar, Doddington, Cambs
||(not with family)
What About More Advanced Uses?[edit | edit source]
- Add hyperlinks to source documents, such as census and vital records. You can also easily link to related timeline grids. For instance, on a person's timeline grid you can link to the grid for their parents.
- Use your application's Comments feature to record questions, information on discrepancies, negative search results, etc.
- Change the text or background colors to highlight things you want to stand out. For instance, when one family member is enumerated apart from the rest of the family, you can color that person’s information a different color. Or you can color unproven items red until you’ve proven them.
- Keep a brief list of “next steps” at the top of the grid for easy reference.
- If you use a service like Google Drive, you can easily collaborate with other researchers. You can see their edits in real time; you can also chat online or leave comments for each other. Documents are easily searchable. Also, Google keeps a revision history so it’s easy to see who made what changes, and to go back to an earlier version if necessary.
How Can the Timeline Grid Help Me in My Research?[edit | edit source]
- Use the timeline grid to see at a glance what research you’ve done so far, and what still needs to be done—something that’s particularly helpful if you are starting research again after time away.
- When you are working on multiple lines or generations, timeline grids can help you keep your research organized.
- The grid helps you avoid tunnel vision by allowing you to see connections that might otherwise be overlooked. For instance, a boarder in one census might become a son-in-law in the next, or you might have a nephew in one grid that was missing from his family in another grid.
- When you have two individuals with the same name, age, and birthplace who might easily be confused for each other, you can use the grid to compare them so you can tell them apart.
- The grid makes it easy to see trends or inconsistencies across census records—for instance, in birthplaces, occupations or addresses—which can help you verify your assumptions, or at least avoid making wrong assumptions.
How Do I Get Started?[edit | edit source]
- Choose a family to research using the grid.
- Decide whether you want to use Google Drive, Word, Excel, OpenOffice, etc., or hand write the information.
- Create a grid yourself or start with a template.
- Start finding information for the family, and enter it on the grid.
Where Can I Find Templates?[edit | edit source]
Templates are available here.