Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tilstone Fearnall, Cheshire|
Tilsone Fearnall St Jude
|Poor Law Union||Nantwich|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
TILSTON-FEARNALL, is a township and a chapelry in Bunbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies 1 mile N E of Beeston railway station, and 2 SSE of Tarporley. The chapelry was constituted in 1837. The post town is, Tarporley. The church was built in 1836.
Tilstone Fearnall St Jude is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1837 from chapelry in Bunbury, Cheshire Ancient Parish.
Tilstone Fearnall was a township in Bunbury Parish, Eddisbury Hundred , which became a civil parish in 1866 and
Included the hamlets of Stages Platt and Tilstone Bank.
Tilstone Fearnall is a civil parish in the Borough of Cheshire West and Chester and ceremonial county of Cheshire in England.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Tilstone Fearnall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Tilstone Fearnall Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1848-1901||1901-1910||1848-1901|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1848-1901||1901-1910||1848-1901|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
West Cheshire (1937–74)
Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Tilstone Fearnall on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 12 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.