Tillamook County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tillamook County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oregon
Tillamook County

Guide to Tillamook County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Tillamook County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Tillamook County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 15, 1853
County Seat Tillamook
Courthouse
Address Tillamook County Courthouse
201 Laurel Avenue
Tillamook, OR 97141
Phone: 503.842.3402
Tillamook County Website



County Information

Description

The County was named for the Tillamook, a Native American tribe who were living in the area in the early 19th century at the time of European American settlemen. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]

Tillamook County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1854 1860 1854 1859

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1862,
divorce, probate and court records from 1860.[2]

The Land of Cheese, Trees and Ocean Breeze

Quick Facts

Parent Counties

15 December 1853: Tillamook county was created from Clatsop, Polk and Yamhill Counties.
The name Tillamook comes from the Tillamook (Killamook or Calamoxes) Indians., a Native American tribe living in the area in 19th century. [3]

  • Records Held at the Courthouse

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Tillamook County Court House as of August/September 2006.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]


Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


Neighboring Counties

Clatsop | Columbia | Lincoln | Polk | Washington | Yamhill

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Census records for Tillamook County, Oregon, 1854, 1857-1858

The 1860 census records of Tillamook County, Oregon

Tillamook County, Oregon census, 1860-1870

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Clatsop CountyColumbia CountyWashington CountyYamhill CountyPolk CountyLincoln CountyOR TILLAMOOK.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military History and Records

List of soldier's graves in Tillamook County, Oregon : arranged according to the different cemeteries

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Declarations of intentions, 1888-1892, 1907-1954 (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Naturalization petitions, 1909-1953; card index, 1871-1954 (Tillamook County, Oregon)

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Tax assessment books and sherriff's tax rolls for Tillamook County, Oregon

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:

Birth Records

Delayed Birth Certificates


Birth Registers


Marriage Records

Divorce Records

Death Records


See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Tillamook County Pioneer Museum
2106 2nd St
Tillamook Oregon 97141
Telephone:503-842-4553
E-mail:director@tcpm.org
Website

Cannon Beach History Center And Museum
1387 S Spruce St
P O Box 1005
Cannon Beach, Oregon 97110
Telephone: 503-436-9301
Website

Seaside Museum and Historical Society
570 Necanicum Dr
Seaside, OR 97138
Telephone: 503-738-765
E-mail:seasidemuseum@hotmail.com
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Tillamook County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tillamook, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tillamook_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tillamook County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Tillamook County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tillamook_County,_Oregon, accessed 22 December 2018.