Tift County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Tift County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Tift County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||August 17, 1905|
|Address|| Tift County Courthouse]|
225 N Tift Avenue
Tifton, GA 31794-4463
Tift County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 5.19 Voter Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Tift County, Georgia Record Dates
Tift County Courthouse
225 N Tift Avenue
Tifton, GA 31794-4463
Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1905
Clerk of Superior Court
237 E. 2nd Street
P.O. Box 354 (31793)
Tifton, GA 31794
Telephone: (229) 386-7816
Fax: (229) 386-7813
Probate Court of Tift County
P.O. Box 792
Tifton, GA 31793
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Organization of Tift County, Georgia
The Creek Indians in 1814 and 1818 ceded their lands in the Southern portion of what is now the State of Georgia to the United States government. This extended the boundaries of the State of Georgia to the Chattahoochee River on the West and to what is now the State of Florida in the South.
This land was originally divided into three counties:” Early in the West; Irwin in the middle; and Appling in the East. In 1818, 1819, and 1820 survey parties were sent into these counties. There was a land lottery held in 1820. The lands of Early, Irwin, and Appling then became available to be purchased for a small fee by those eligible. These three counties then began to be settled.
As the population of original Irwin County began to increase other counties were formed. There are currently all or part of seventeen counties within original Irwin. Tift County on Aug. 17, 1905 was chartered from parts of Irwin, Worth, and Berrien Counties. (Worth became a county in 1853 and Berrien in 1856.) All of Tift County is in the 6th Land District of original Irwin except for four land lots West of Ty Ty which are in the 7th Land District. These land lots are number 207, 208, 253, and 254. When Tift County was formed the residents of these four desired to be a part of Tift and their wish was granted.
The land surveyed in 1818, 1819, and 1820 which became Irwin County was organized into land lots. A land lot is 490 acres. When the lottery was held in 1820, those who were fortunate to have their number drawn had the opportunity to purchase the designated land lot for $18. There were sixteen Land Districts in original Irwin County. A full size land district is 20 miles and 660 feet squared. Land lots make up a Land District.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
The following web site may have additional information on Tift County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Tift County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Williams, Ida Belle. History of Tift County. Macon, Ga.: Printed by the J.W. Burke Co., c1948. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Tift County GAGenWeb Page. Scroll down to military information.
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tift County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Tift County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 - Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 - Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
- 1560-1993 - Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1939 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Vital Record Substitutes
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Tift County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Tift County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tift County, Georgia. Page 161 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 53. At various libraries (WorldCat).