Thorpe Hesley, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Thorpe Hesley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thorpe Hesley, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Rotherham|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
THORPE-HESLEY, a chapelry in Rotherham, Wath-upon-Dearne, and Ecclesfield parishes, W. R. Yorkshire. The church is good; and there are three Methodist chapels. 
Thorpe Hesley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1841 from Wath upon Dearne Ancient Parish. Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Thorpe Hesley
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Thorpe Hesley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|THORPE HESLEY PARISH (1839) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Thorpe Hesley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Thorpe Hesley page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.Date accessed: 16 October 2013.