To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Thornton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Thornton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornton in Lonsdale, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale; Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Settle
Registration District Lancaster; Settle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Part of this parish is in Lancashire. See also Thornton in Lonsdale, Lancashire.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Thornton in Lonsdale is an Ancient Parish mostly in Yorkshire and partly in Lancashire. Other places in this parish include Ireby.

THORNTON-IN-LONSDALE (St. Oswald), a parish, partly in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, but chiefly in the union of Settle, wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; containing, with Ireby township, which forms the Lancashire portion, and with Black-Burton township, 1138 inhabitants, of whom 364 are in the township of Thornton, 11½ miles (N. W.) from Settle.[1]

Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Thornton in Lonsdale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Thornton in Lonsdale Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Census[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


 

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Thornton in Lonsdale census enumerators books 1841-1901.

Surname Index for 1841-1901 provided by Ingleborough Archaeology Freebooters. These surnames were gleaned from the images in Ireby census enumerators books 1841-1901.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 337-341. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk