Thornton-Hough, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Thornton-Hough, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
THORNTON-HOUGH, or Thorton Mayow, a township-chapelry in Neston parish, Cheshire; 2 miles W by S of Bromborough r. station, and 2 NNE of Great Neston. Post town, Chester. There is a Wesleyan chapel. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Thronton-Hugh Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Thornton-Hough All Saints Parish (1869) Online Records|
Thornton-Hough was a chapelry in Neston parish, created a parish in 1869 from Willaston and Neston.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for Thornton-Hough, 1868-1902 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P179/1.
|Parish Registers: Thornton-Hough||Film|
||2105377 Item 3|
Bishop's transcripts for Thornton-Hough, 1868-1877 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 198
|Bishops Transcripts: Thornton-Hough
|Baptisms, 1868-1877, burials, 1868-1877.
||1647671 Item 6|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Independent/Congregational (1902)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1837-1974)
- Birkenhead (1974-98)
- Wirral (1998+)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 24th January 2014.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]