Thornham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Thornham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Docking|
|Parish registers: 1716|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1705|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
THORNHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 6¼ miles (W. by N.) from Burnham-Westgate. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Thornham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Thornham is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. It is situated on the north Norfolk coast some 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) north-east of the seaside resort of Hunstanton, 30 km (19 mi) north of the town of King's Lynn and 70 km (43 mi) north-west of the city of Norwich.[ For the purposes of local government, the parish falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.
HMS Thornham, a Ham class minesweeper, was named after the village. The ship's bell hangs in All Saints' Church.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thornham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free |
|FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free |
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Thornham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD576
Parish registers, 1716-1900 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Baptisms 1718-1762 Marriages 1716-1753 Burials 1717-1762 Baptisms & burials 1762-1812 Baptisms 1813-1846 Marriages & banns 1755-1812 Marriages 1813-1867 Burials 1867-1900 Declaration of incorrect entry of baptism of John Allen as Robert (born 8 May 1799) FHL BRITISH Film 1657243 Items 20-29
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 10
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 335-337. Date accessed:15 July 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.