Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Peterborough|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1868|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar Parish of Thorney|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
THORNEY-ABBEY, (St. Botolph), a market-town and parish, in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Peterborough, and 86 (N.) from London. The church, originally the nave of the conventual church, was built about 1128.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Thorney Abbey, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- French Church
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Thorney Abbey on GENUKI