To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Thorne, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Thorne, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thorne, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thorne
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Thorne St Nicholas is is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Bradholme, Ditchmarsh, Hangman Hill, Waterside, Moor Ends, Quay, and Levels.

The parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

THORNE (St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish,and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 29 miles (S. by E.) from York, and 165 (N. by W.) from London. [1]

See also Thorne South Yorkshire Wikipedia

Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Part of the parish boundary forms the County Boundary with Eastoft, Lincolnshire and Crowle, Lincolnshire

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Thorne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Thorne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Civil registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was part of the Thorne registration district from 1837-1947 when it became part of the Don Valley registration district. Thorne registration district

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1565.

There is a transcript of Thorne, Yorkshire Marriages 1565-1679 in the publication of Family History The Bi-MonthlyJournal of the Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies  August 1970 Vol 5 Nos. 32/33 New Series Nos 8/9 pages 236-261. Familysearch catalog to this journal  

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Bibiography[edit | edit source]

Genealogy and History Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-335. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk