Thornaby, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Thornaby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

  

Thornaby, Yorkshire
Thornaby-on-Tees St Paul.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630; Separate registers exist for Stockton in Cleveland St Paul beginning 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Stockton in Cleveland St Paul beginning 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Thornaby on Tees is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from chapelry in Stainton in Cleveland Stainton in Cleveland, Yorkshire Genealogy Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Stockton in Cleveland St Paul and South Stockton.

THORNABY, a district, in the parish of Stainton, union of Stockton, W. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, N. riding of York, 1¾ mile (S. S. E.) from Stockton.[1] In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Thornaby on Tees like this:

THORNABY, a township-chapelry in Stainton parish, N. R. Yorkshire; on the river Tees, adjacent to Stockton. It contains South Stockton, which has a post-office under Stockton-upon-Tees. Acres, 1,230. Real property, £7,239. Pop. in 1851, 1,759; in 1861, 3,126. Houses, 597. The increase of pop. arose from the erection of blast-furnaces, and the opening of iron-ship building yards. Pop. in 1868, about 6,000. The property is subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £300. Patron, the Archbishop of York.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

'The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Thornaby Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-North Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
FamilySearch Marriage Bonds and Allegations (Allertonshire)-North Riding
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-North Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Banns-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-North Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Church of England Marriage Bonds-North Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham Genealogy

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 331-335. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.