Thompson, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Thompson, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wayland|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
THOMPSON, a parish in Wayland district, Norfolk; 2½ miles SSE of Watton. 
Thompson, St Martin is an ecclesiatical parish in the Diocese of Norwich and county of Norfolk.
Thompson, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Thompson, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 156/ 1-5
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms and burials 1602-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1610, 1623-1630, 1665-1811|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526739 Item 9
Poor Law Unions
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and ...
- Wayland Poor Law Union http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Wayland/Wayland.shtml
- Norfolk Poor Law Unions
- Wayland 1837-1974
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- Norfolk: Thompson on GenUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.