Thomas County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Thomas County

Guide to Thomas County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Thomasville
Organized: December 23, 1825
Parent County(s): Decatur, Irwin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brooks  • Colquitt  • Grady  • Jefferson (FL)  • Leon (FL)  • Mitchell
See County Maps
Courthouse
Thomas County Courthouse Thomasville, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Thomas County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Jett Thomas, officer in the War of 1812 who is also known for overseeing the construction of the first building at the University of Georgia (originally referred to as Franklin College and known today as Old College) as well as the state capitol at Milledgeville. The County is located in the south central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Thomas County Courthouse
225 N Broad Street
Thomasville, GA 31792
Phone: 229-225-4108
Thomas County Website

County Health Department has birth and death records.
Probate Court has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1919 and land records from 1826.[3]

Thomas County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1826 1826 1826 1830

Record Loss

1849 The courthouse was damaged by a storm. No records were reported lost.

Boundary Changes

  • 1825 Thomas County was created 23 December 1825 from Decatur and Irwin Counties.
  • County seat: Thomasville[4]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Thomas County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Thomas, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Thomas County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Presbyterian

  • First Presbyterian Church, Thomasville Baptism Index 1854-1917. Batch C713831 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Thomas County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • MacIntyre, W. Irwin. History of Thomas County, Georgia: From the Time of DeSoto to the Civil War. Thomasville, Ga.: 1923. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Gathomas.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Thomas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Thomas County:

- 29th Battalion, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate), Company A
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, H and K
- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company I



World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

  • Thomas County Health Department, Vital Records, P.O. Box 148, Thomasville, GA 31799-0148, Phone: 229-226-4241

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Thomas County Historical Society
    725 N Dawson St
    Thomasville, GA 31792-4452
    Phone: 912-26-7764
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Thomas County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_County,_Georgia accessed 6 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.