To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Thisted County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Thisted ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

History[edit | edit source]

Thisted County is a former province in Denmark, located on the north-westernmost part of the country It encompassed the westernmost part of the island of Vendsyssel-Thy. It was dissolved in 1970 when the bulk of it was merged into Viborg County while other regions joined the counties of Ringkjøbing and North Jutland. [1]

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in Thisted County are held by the Danish State Archives in Viborg. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Hassing Herred
  • Hillerslev Herred
  • Hundborg Herred
  • Morsø Nørre Herred
  • Refs Herred
  • Vester Han herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

Parishes[edit | edit source]

HjortdalKollerupKettrupKlimGettrupTorupVustLildTømmerbyØsløsVesløsArupHjaremålØsterildVigsøHunstrupRæerHanstedTvedKåstrupHillerslevSennelsNorsVester VandetØster VandetSejerslevEjerslevJørsbySønder DråbySkinnerupVangTorstedThisted CitySjørringTilstedJannerupHundborgNørhåKallerupSkjoldborgHvidbjerg (Hassing herred)ØrumLodbjergBestedSønderhåSnedstedHørstedHarringStagstrupHørdumHassingGrurupVisbyVillerslevSkyumAggerVestervigGettrupHelligsøHurupYdbyHeltborgFladeBjergbySundbySkallerupSolbjergGaltrupAlstedØster JølbyDragstrupTæbringOvtrupFrøslevErslevTødsøElsøNykøbing MorsLødderupMollerupRakkebyKarbyKarbyHvidbjerg (Morsø Sønder herred)Hvidbjerg (Morsø Sønder herred)VejerslevLørslevBlistrupØrdingVester AsselsØster AsselsBodumLyngsHvidbjerg (Refs herred)JegindøSøndbjergOdbyThyborønNorre NissumGudumResenHumlumVenøLihmeRøddingKrejbjergVileGlyngøreNautrupSæbyÅstedFurAggersborgBejstrupSkræmLerupØster SvenstrupTranumThisted.jpg

Map of parishes

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Estates[edit | edit source]

  • Abildgård
  • Blidstrup
  • Boddum Bisgård
  • Boddum
  • Borggård
  • Chr. Christensens gods
  • Chr. Pedersen Grønholts gods
  • Chr. Sørensens gods
  • Christen Knudsens gods
  • Christen Thøgersens gods
  • Claus Caspergårds gods
  • Damsgård
  • Danmark. Rentekammeret
    Diernæs
  • Dueholm
  • Faddersbøl
  • Frøslevgård
  • Glomstrup
  • Helligkildegård
  • Henrik Reimersens gods
  • Hindsel
  • Hjordal Pastorat
  • Hundborg præstegods
  • Højris
  • Inger Jensdatters gods
  • Irup
  • Jens Jensen Kærsgårds gods
  • Jens Povlsen Nordentofts arvingers gods
  • Kettrup-Gøttrup præstegods
  • Koldbygård
  • Koustrup
  • Kristen og Niels Kristensen Klims godsarkiver
  • Kølbygård
  • Lyngholm
  • Mads Poulsen og Stefan
  • Møllers gods
  • Nandrup
  • Neesgård
  • Niels Christensen Barslevs gods
  • Niels Edvardsens gods
  • Niels Sørensens gods
  • Nørgård
  • Nørhedegård
  • Nørtorp
  • O. P. Dragsbæks gods
  • Oddersbøl
  • Oluf Nielsens gods
  • Peder Ingvorsen, Chr. J. Krog, og P. Brixs gods
  • Rostrup
  • Sjørring præstegods
  • Skibstedgård
  • Skjoldborg præstegods
  • Skyum-Hørdum præstegods
  • Slettegård
  • Snedsted præstegods
  • Søren Knudsens gods i Gettrup
  • Tandrup
  • Todbøl
  • Tøfting
  • Ullerup
  • Ulstrup
  • Vang præstegods
  • Vesløsgård
  • Vestervig kloster
  • Visby-Heltborg præstekald
  • Øland
  • Ørndrup
  • Ørum
  • Ågård