Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Thetford|
|Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Thetford St Mary the Less (Suffolk)|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
THETFORD, a borough and market-town, having exclusive jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Shropham, W. division, of Norfolk, and the hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, 79 miles (N. N. E.) from London. Thetford comprises the parishes of St. Cuthbert, St. Peter, and St. Mary the Less.
There are places of worship for the Society of Friends,Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. 
Thetford is a market town and civil parish in the Breckland district of Norfolk Thetford Wikipedia
Thetford St Cuthbert including Ford Place is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.
The Parish Church of St Cuthbert King Street Thetford Norfolk has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
The history of the churches of Thetford Norfolk are found in Frences Blomfield 'Thetford, chapter 15: Of the Parish churches in the town', An Essay towards a Topographical History of the County of Norfolk: volume 2 (1805), pp. 59-76. at British History Online
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Thetford St Cuthbert, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Few of this parish's registers appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms 1602-1608, 1621-1627, 1668-1812 Marriages 1602-1608, 1622-1627?, 1668-1812 Burials 1602-1608, 1622-1627, 1668-1812
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526784 Item 8
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Thetford on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.