Therfield, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Therfield, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Therfield, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Odsey
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Royston
Registration District Royston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Baldock
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Therfield (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Royston, hundred of Odsey, and county of Hertford, it is 2 1/2 miles SW of Royston; in 1848 there were 1224 inhabitants.[1]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Therfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
HERT = Hertfordshire Names Online - free (click on "Search Hertfordshire Names Online")
FMP = Hertfordshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Therfield Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
HERT

1538-1922
1827-1933
FMP 1538-1910
1538-1928
1538-1988
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1800-1851
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Therfield on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk