Them Parish, Skanderborg, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Skanderborg County
Them

Guide to Them, Skanderborg, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

Until 1 January 2007 Them municipality was a municipality in the former Aarhus County on the Jutland peninsula in central Denmark and the main town and site of its municipal council was the town of Them.
The municipality was created in 1970 as the result of a Municipality Reform that merged a number of existing parishes, Bryrup, Them, Vinding and Vrads.
Them municipality ceased to exist as the result of The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with Gjern, Kjellerup, and Silkeborg municipalities to form the new Silkeborg municipality. The new municipality belongs to Mid-Jutland Region.
[1]

Them Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Århus Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Them Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Silkeborg
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Skanderborg
Herred (district) Vrads
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 9
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 8-9
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 4/209 og 2010
Gods (estate) Skanderborgske rytterdistrikt gods; Sindinggård gods; Vinderslevgård gods; Vrads herreds provsti; Sejlgård gods; Vester Kejlstrup gods; Silkeborg gods; Århus hospitalspræsts gods; Skanderborg birk Birketing; Tyrsting Herredsret; Vrads Herredsret


Place Names

Ansø, Asklev,

Bakbjerg, Bakbjærg, Banbjerg, Bavnehøj, Blæsbjerge, Brande, Brande Krat, Bødskov, Bødskov Krat, Bøgballe,

Christianshede Stationsby,

Engetved, Esperlund,

Fogstrup, Funderholm,

Gedsø, Gedsølund, Gjessø, Gjessø Skov, Glarbo, Glarboe, Gothenborg, Grønlund,

Hedegaard, Himmelkol, Hjortsballe, Hjortsballe Krat, Holmhuse, Hummelsø, Høgdal, Højkol, Højkol Skov, Høvildgaard, Høvild Skov, Hørbylunde,

Ildal,

Jævdal,

Katrinedal, Katrinedal vandmølle, Knudlund, Kollebakker, Kongshus,

Langkær, Lindgaarde, Lovdal, Lundsgaard, Lyngkro, Løndal, Løgager, Løgager Skov, Løvenjolt,

Marielyst, Marienlyst, Millingbæk Trævarefabrik, Mølleshøj,

Nylund, Næsgaard,

Paradisøerne, Peterslund, Plejlvad, Paarup, Pøtsø,

Rodelund, Rudstrup, Rustrup, Rustrup Skove, Rygesminde, Rødebæk, Rødelunde,

Salten, Salten Dal, Salten Profil, Salten Skove, Sejlgaard, Sepstrup, Sepstrup Krat, Sepstrup Sande, Septrup, Silkeborg Bad, Skeldal, Skibsted, Skinnebjerg, Skovlyst, Skærbæk, Skærbæk plantage, Slaaensø, Spidsbjerg, Staldtømmerhøj, Stenhule, Stenknold, Subæk, Sugebæk, Svejbæk, Sønderskov,

Tem, Tem Skov, Them, Them Skov, Them-Glarbo, Thomaskær, Thorsø, Thorsø Bakker, Tolstrup, Tyskerbakke, Tømmerby,

Vesterlund, Virklund, Voldborgkær, Voldby, Voldbygaard, Vorret,

Ørneborg, Ørnsø, Ørntip

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Skanderborg Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Skanderborg" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Feb 2012.

- Trap, J.P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4de. ed. Vol. 7, Århus (now Skanderborg) Amt. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1926.

- Trap, J.P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 5te ed. Vol. 8, Skanderborg Amt. København: G.E.C. Gads Forlag, 1964.