Theale, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Theale

Guide to Theale, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Theale, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1833
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

THEALE, a parish, in the union of Bradfield, hundred of Reading, county of Berks, 4¼ miles (W. by S.) from Reading. This place was formerly in the parish of Tilehurst. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Theale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Theale Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1832-1917
1833-1931
1832-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FS Catalog PRs
1832-1968
1832-1968
1832-1968
FS Catalog BTs
1833-1836
1833-1836
1833-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Theale in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.