The Temple, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
London
London Parishes
The Temple

London The Temple ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

The Temple, London
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Inns of Court and Chancery
County London
Poor Law Union West London
Registration District West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Parish History

The Temple, is a number of buildings, quadrangles, courts, & c. Which are to be found under their respective names Herrick court, pump court,& c (which see). It is divided into two parts, the inner and middle Temple, which are occupied and governed by two societies. It derives its name from having been anciently residents of the Knights Templars, a society established about the year 1118. The Knights Templars let their residence, in 1324, to the students of the common law, in his possession the Temple has been ever since. It extends from White Friars nearly 2 Essex St, and has two halls, to libraries, a fine church (see Temple Church), very airy gardens on the bank of the Thames, and several spacious quadrangles.

Temple Church, The, is a very ancient church built by the Knights Templars, and recently very handsomely restored by Mr. Smirk. It escaped the fire of London. The clergyman is appointed by the king, by letters patent, without institution and induction, and he is called custos or Master . It is in the city of London, and exempt from all jurisdiction.[1]

1848 parish descripton:
Inner and Middle Temple is an extra-parochial parish, in the city Without the Walls.[2]

Published history:

  • Billings, Robert William. Architectural Illustrations and Account of the Temple Church, London. London: Thomas and William Boone, 1838. Digital version at Google Books.

Resources

Church records

The Temple parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ARCHIVE = Internet Archive - free
FMP = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Bur = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Clan = London, England, Clandestine Marriage and Baptism Registers, 1667-1754 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
The Temple Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ARCHIVE




1628-1853
FMP

1628-1760
1629-1853
FMP Bur



1578-1846
ANC Marr

1597-1921


ANC Clan 1667-1754
1667-1754


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs
1628-1870
1628-1870
1628-1870

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Squibb, G.D. The Register of the Temple Church, London: Baptisms, 1629-1853; Marriages, 1628-1760. 1979.[4]

St Bride.png

Cemetery

Londontemplecemetery.jpg
Transcripts of early The Temple, London Genealogy tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[5]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the Temple Church churchyard.[6]

Find A Grave has a page about Temple Church monumental inscriptions.


Websites

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. Stuart A. Raymond, London and Middlesex: A Genealogical Bibliography (Birmingham, UK: Federation of Family History Societies, c1997), Vol. 1:29.
  5. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  6. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=The_Temple,_London_Genealogy&oldid=3553450"