| General Websites
- FamilySearch Historical Record Collection for the Netherlands has church records (pre-1811) and civil registration (post-1796/1811). However, they are much easier to navigate using Zoekakten as an index.
- WieWasWie -Major site containing most civil registration records, and some population registers, church records, newspapers and military records
- Open Archives Similar to WieWasWie but with slightly more records. A big portion of its records can be searched in the collections Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Miscellaneous Records and *Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Public Records, index.
- GeneaKnowHow A site that collates many different online resources for the Netherlands, and includes their subsidary VPND who makes images and indexes of various records, especially Church Records, available online.
Births, Marriages and Deaths
- Netherlands, Bibliothèque Wallonne, Card Indexes, ca. 1500-1858. Abstracts of baptisms, marriages, deaths, and memberships from French Protestant parish registers from Belgium, France, Germany, and the Netherlands. Card index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Births and Baptisms, 1564-1910. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Marriages, 1565-1892. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Deaths and Burials, 1668-1945. FamilySearch Historical Records. Indexed. Incomplete.
Large Databases With Many Record Types
- Archivenet, website for the Dutch archive system]. If searching for a specific locality, click on “Nederland” in the top left and choose either “plaats” (place) or “provincie” (province). Click on the locality in which you want to search, and a list of all the archives, by type and town, comes up with automatic links.English is available for
- Surname Navigator The Netherlands. Megasearch engines by province.
- Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Miscellaneous Records — index
- Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Public Records, index.
Population Registers and Censuses
Emigration, Immigration, and Passenger Lists
- Web: Netherlands, Dutch East India Company Passenger Lists to India, 1699-1794. Index.
- Passagierslijsten tot en met 1736, prior to 1736. Partially indexed. Incomplete.
- Passagierslijsten ná 1736, since 1736. Partially indexed. Incomplete.
- Dutch Immigrants to America, 1820-1880, ($). index. Incomplete.
- Dutch Immigrants: New York Passenger Lists, 1881-1894, ($). Index. Incomplete.
- Netherlands, Passenger Lists Holland-America Line, 1900-1974. Passenger lists for the Holland-America Line (Holland Amerika Lijn)
For translating vocabulary typically found on websites, see Dutch Websites- Vocabulary List.