Thavie's Inn, London Genealogy
Thavie's Inn in London ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thavie's Inn, London|
|Hundred||London, Within the Walls|
|Poor Law Union||West London|
|Registration District||West London|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|London Record Office|
Thavie's Inn, Holborn Hill, is six houses west of St. Andrews churchyard, and is one of the Inns of Chancery. It derives its name from its founder, John Kay who lived in the reign of Edward III. It is a member, and under the government of Lincoln's Inn.
Thavies Inn is an extra parochial unit of London.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Thavie's Inn is an extra-parochial unit. For church records, look at surrounding parishes.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.