To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Thanington, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Thanington, Kent)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Thanington, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thanington, Kent
Thanington without St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Thanington without St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westgate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Thanington is known in many records as Thanington Without as it is adjacent to the city walls of Canterbury. Thanington Without is a civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Thanington Without Wikipedia

The Ancient Parish church of St Nicholas Thanington is in the civil parish of Thanington Without south of the Great Stour River and is almost surrounded by large mature yew trees. It is designated as a Grade II* listed building by English Heritage and is a Norman building extended in the 13th century and restored in 1846. British listed building Thanington St Nicholas is a parish in the Thanington benefice of the Diocese of Canterbury and included Milton St Nicholas, Kent and St Faith's Mission Church within the parish boundary; a map of the parish may be viewed at A church near you

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 21-27. Date accessed: 21 November 2013. at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Thanington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Thanington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Thanington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 Images displayed are for Borough of Cockering in  years1780-1824, later assesements on printed form for Thanington 1825-1831. Cockering was the name of the old manor and farm owned by the Cockering family until it passed into the hands of other owners.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



 

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

THANINGTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Bridge, partly within the boundary of the city of Canterbury, but chiefly in the hundred of Westgate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent. [2]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 321-326. Date accessed: 25 May 2013.