Guide to Thailand ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Thailand Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Thailand is a country in South East Asia bordered by Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, and Malaysia. It was formerly known as Siam. The official language is Thai. It covers a total area of 513,120 km2 (198,120 sq mi). Its capital city is Bangkok. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Thailand Research
Links to articles on getting started with Thailand research.
Thailand Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Thailand research.
Thailand Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Thailand.
Provinces[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the province level in Thailand. Click on a state below to go to the province Wiki article listing more information.
Thailand is divided into 76 provinces (changwat, singular and plural).
Map of Thailand showing the provinces numbered. Numbering is done according to alphabetic sorting of the standard English transcription of the province name, done for each of the five regions separately.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
- FamilySearch Images
- FamilySearch Catalog
- FamilySearch Books