Texas, Comanche County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Comanche County
Access the Records
Texas, Comanche County Records, 1858-1955 .
CID1831470
{{{CID2}}}
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.
Comanche, Texas, United States
Texas flag.png
Flag of Texas
US Locator Map Texas Comanche.PNG
Location of Comanche County, Texas
US Locator Texas.png
Location of Texas
Record Description
Record Type County Records
Collection years 1858-1955
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites



What Is in the Collection?

The collection consists of records from Comanche County, Texas including births, marriages, divorce minutes, court records, probate records, and scholastic census records for the years 1858 to 1955. This collection is being published as images become available. Many marriages recorded in the South, are separated by race in volumes, books, or registers.Be sure to check to determine if you have the right set of marriage records.

To Browse This Collection

You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Texas, Comanche County Records, 1858-1955.

What Can These Records Tell Me?

The records generally include the following information:

  • Date of the event, transaction, or recording with the county
  • Names of individual, witnesses, family members, sometimes neighbors
  • Ages
  • Relationships
  • Residences
  • Occupations
  • Signature or mark
  • Legal descriptions of land
  • Amount of money exchanged as part of business transactions.

Collection Content

Coverage Table and Map

The coverage table shows the record types, and if an index is included and the years covered in this collection. Most of the records in the collection are from the time periods listed in the table; however, the collection may have a few records from before or after the time period.

To see a coverage map of FamilySearch's holdings of Texas marriages click here.

Record Type If Indexed Years Covered Notes
Birth Records Not Indexed 1856 to 1933
Marriage Records Not Indexed 1887 to 1951
Death Records Not Indexed 1909 to 1982
Divorce Records Not Indexed 1905 to 1925
Commissioner's Court Records Indexed 1862 to 1918 Some marriage records are included
County Court Records Indexed 1858 to 1914 Some marriage and divorce records are included
District Court Records Indexed 1858 to 1933
Land and Property Records Indexed 1918 to 1921 Some cemetery records are included
Probate Records Not Indexed 1914 to 1950
Naturalization Records Not Indexed 1880 to 1906
Military Records Not indexed 1918 to 1955
School Records Not Indexed 1942 to 1947

Sample Images


How Do I Search the Collection?

You can search the index or view the images or both. Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:

  • Name of the person
  • The name of a parent or date of the event

Search the Index

You will be able to search this collection when it is published.

View the Images

View images in this collection by visiting the Browse Page. br>

  1. Select Record Category
  2. Select Record Type, Volume or Case No., Year Range

How Do I Analyze the Results?

Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images.

For more tips about searching on-line collections see the on-line article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

What Do I Do Next?

Indexes and transcriptions may not include all the data found in the original records. Look at the actual image of the record, if you can, to verify the information and to find additional information.

I Found Who I Was Looking For, What Now?

  • Copy the citation below, in case you need to find this record again later.
  • Use the age or estimated birth date to find other church and vital records such as birth, baptism, marriage, and death records.
  • Use the information found in the record to find land, probate and immigration records.
  • Use the information found in the record to find additional family members in censuses. Witnesses were usually family members.
  • Repeat this process with additional family members found, to find more generations of the family.
  • Church Records were kept years before counties began keeping records. They are a good source for finding ancestors before 1900.


I Can’t Find Who I’m Looking For, What Now?

  • If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This list can help you find possible relatives.
  • If you cannot locate your ancestor in the locality in which you believe they lived, then try searching records of a nearby town or county.
  • Try different spellings of your ancestor’s name.
  • Remember that sometimes individuals went by nicknames or alternated between using first and middle names. Try searching for these names as well.
  • Check the info box above for additional FamilySearch websites and related websites that may assist you in finding similar records.

Known Issues With This Collection

Important.png Problems with this collection?
See a list of known issues, workarounds, tips, restrictions, future fixes, news and other helpful information.

For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to support@familysearch.org. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.


Citing This Collection

Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.

Collection Citation
"Texas, Comanche County Records, 1858-1955." Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : 21 October 2016. County Clerk, Comanche.
Image Citation:
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.

Top of Page

How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.