Teversham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Teversham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Teversham, Cambridgeshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ancient Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Flendish |
| County | Cambridgeshire |
| Poor Law Union | Chesterton |
| Registration District | Chesterton |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1593 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1599 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Cambridge |
| Diocese | Ely |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Cambridgeshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History
TEVERSHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Flendish, county of Cambridge, 3½ miles (E.) from Cambridge. [1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish register transcripts, 1592-1840 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Teversham, 1599-1867 at FHL
Church records
Teversham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Teversham Online Parish Records | ||||||
| |
|
| ||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| Cam BTs | 1599-1860 | |
1599-1860 | |
1599-1860 | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | |
1538–1973 | |
1538-1991 | |
| FREG | 1539-1950 | |
1540-1949 | |
1540-1966 | |
| FMP | 1538-1950 | |
1538-1973 | |
1538-1950 | |
| NBI | |
|
|
|
1538-1939 | |
| BOYD | |
|
1538-1850 | |
|
|
| ANC | 1538-1975 | |
1538–1973 | |
1538-1991 | |
| IGI | |
|
|
| ||
| FS Catalog PRs | |
|
|
|||
| FS Catalog BTs | |
|
|
|||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.
Non-Conformist Churches
None
Census records
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
Teversham on GENUKI
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-321. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
