Teton County, Wyoming Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wyoming
Teton County
Guide to Teton County, Wyoming ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Jackson
Organized: February 15, 1921
Parent County(s): Lincoln [1]
Neighboring Counties
Bonneville (ID)  • Fremont (ID)  • Fremont  • Gallatin (MT)  • Lincoln  • Park  • Sublette  • Teton (ID)
See County Maps
Courthouse
WyomingTetonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Wy-teton.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Teton County was founded in 1921, the county seat is Jackson. [2] It is located on the northwestern area of the state. It was named for the Teton Range.[3]

County Courthouse

Teton County Courthouse
200 S Willow
PO Box 1727
Jackson, WY 83001
Phone: 307.733.4430
Teton County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, land and court records.[4]

Teton County, Wyoming Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1909 1922 1909 1922 1902 1923 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1909. Limited compliance until 1922.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: created 15 February 1921 from Lincoln County.
  • County seat: Jackson [7]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[8]

Towns
  • Grovont
Villages
  • Beaver Creek
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Teton County, Wyoming online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wyoming Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Teton county cemeteries.

Census Records

Before Wyoming was a state in 1890, Wyoming was included in the 1850 Utah Territory. In the 1860 Census, it was enumerated as Nebraska Territory. The first Wyoming Territorial Census was taken in 1869, right after Wyoming Territory was created, and is available on microfilm at the Wyoming State Archives[9] and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (FHL film 2261365). The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Wyoming Territory.[10] See links listed below. State censuses were taken for Wyoming but they were mostly statistical censuses with very little individual information. See Wyoming Census for more information.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1930 2,003
1940 2,543 27.0%
1950 2,593 2.0%
1960 3,062 18.1%
1970 4,823 57.5%
1980 9,355 94.0%
1990 11,172 19.4%
2000 18,251 63.4%
2010 21,294 16.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org"

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Wyoming starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Wyoming Census.


Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Grovont
  • Jackson
  • South Park
  • Wilson

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wyoming Land and Property for additional information about early Wyoming land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed. Online Land Records

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Park CountyFremont CountyWublette CountyLincoln CountyBonneville County, IdahoTeton County, IdahoFremont County, IdahoWY TETON.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Wyoming. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Wyoming Military Records.

Civil War
No known military units were raised specifically from Wyoming as it did not become a state until 1890. However men from the territories that became Wyoming fought in other units during the Civil War.

World War I

World War II

For further information see Wyoming Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Wyoming Newspapers.

Wyoming Newspapers Online

Wyoming Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Wyoming, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Wyoming- Teton - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Wyoming tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also How to order Wyoming Vital Records, order electronically online $ or download an application for Wyoming Birth Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail. For records more than 50 years old visit Wyoming State Archives

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • Wyoming Death Index at Wyoming State Archives — index (currently contains only A-E, it is a work in progress)

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Teton County Central Library
125 Virginian Ln
PO Box 1629
Jackson, WY 83001, USA
Phone: 307-733-2164
Email: info@tclib.org
Website

Museums

Societies

County, Township and City Societies

Teton County Historical Society
P. O. Box 25
Green River, WY 82935
Email: ghsc@sweet.w.us
Museum Website
Society Website

Jackson Hole Historical Society and Museum
225 N Cache St
PO Box 1005
Jackson, WY 83001
Phone: 307-733-2414
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/wyo/teton/ accessed 11/15/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teton_County,_Wyoming accessed 11/15/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Teton County, Wyoming
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 768; Wyoming Department of Health, “Vital Statistics Services,” https://health.wyo.gov/admin/vitalstatistics/ accessed 28 June 2017.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 837; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Teton County, Wyoming," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teton_County,_Wyoming#Communities accessed 30 November 2016.
  9. On microfilm number: 2261365.
  10. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 761. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 761. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.