Tempsford, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Bedfordshire
Bedfordshire Parishes
Tempsford

Guide to Tempsford, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tempsford, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willey
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Bedford
Registration District Bedford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eaton
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

TEMPSFORD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Biggleswade, county of Bedford, 5 miles (S. by W.) from St. Neot's. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Tempsford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = England Births, Marriages, Deaths (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
GIBBS = StevenGibbs.me.uk - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Tempsford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


GIBBS 1837-1901
1837-1901
1837-1901
NBI



1602-1852
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1602-1812,1813-1875,1870-1871
1602-1812,1813-1880,1880-1896


FS Catalog PRs
1604-1939
1604-1939
1604-1939
FS Catalog BTs
1603-1874
1603-1874
1603-1874

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan
  • Methodists

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Biggleswade

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Tempsford on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk