Temple, Cornwall Genealogy
Temple St Catherine
|Poor Law Union||Bodmin|
|Parish registers: 1884|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Trigg Minor|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
TEMPLE, a parish, in the union of Bodmin, hundred of Trigg, E. division of Cornwall, 6¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Bodmin.
Temple St Catherine is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Truro ( historically the diocese of Exeter).
The Knights Templars possessed land here in the 12th century. On 26th August 1335, Bishop Grandisson certified to King Edward III that the prior and brethren of St John of Jerusalem then held the parish; these Knights Templar left a lasting reminder of their order in the present name of this parish. In the middle of the 19th century Temple was practically a deserted village with an ash tree growing in the floor of the church. In the 18th century the church achieved some notoriety as a place where couples could marry without a licence or banns. The church of Temple was dedicated to St Catherine. It comprised a chancel, nave and north transept. By the mid 19th century, only the first stage of the tower remained. About 1883, when the population was increasing in the area, the small church was virtually rebuilt but in recent years has been allowed to fall into a dilapidated state.
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD. Temple is and has been in the Bodmin Registration District since the inception of civil registration in 1837.
Temple, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Temple, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1884-1896; 1884-1926 (banns)|
The parish registers are held in the collection at the Cornwall Record Office in Truro, where they may be viewed by appointment. Many have been filmed by the GSU and information can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 220. At the present time only a few years of marriage records are available in an unindexed but browsable form.
A more extensive set of records, which are transcriptions of the registers, can be found on the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks Website (see below).
Temple is a small parish and the small building was in a state of disrepair until the 1880's, so many church events for the few people living in the parish took place in neighbouring parishes, particularly Cardinham, Helland, and Blisland, a fact that must be noted by genealogical researchers. With fewer than 3 dozen inhabitants, the parish was incorporated into the parish of Blisland in 1934, but the church building remains and is generally open to visitors, and the cemetery is still maintained.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Temple.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Temple in GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Date accessed: 25 March 2013.
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.