To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Telemark County, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Norway Wiki Topics
Flag of Norway.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Norway Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Norway is SteuartRC
Telemark-Norway.png


Guide to Telemark ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}
Telemark (help·info) is a county in Norway, bordering Vestfold, Buskerud, Hordaland, Rogaland and Aust-Agder. Until 1919 the county was known as Bratsberg amt. The county is located in southeastern Norway, extending from Hardangervidda to the Skagerrak coast. The coastline extends from Langesundsfjorden to Gjernestangen at the border to Aust-Agder. Telemark has a very broken and heterogeneous landscape, including many hills and valleys.


Family History Resources[edit | edit source]

Government Offices and Sites[edit | edit source]

Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Telemark County[edit | edit source]

AustbygdiTinnAtråMælDalMøsstrandRaulandGrungedalVinjeNeslandNeslandMoEidsborgEidsborgØyfjellHøydalsmoLårdalÅmotsdalFlatdalHjartdalTuddalSaulandHovinGransheradLisleherad (Lilleherred)Heddal (Hitterdal)NotoddenSkafsåBrunkebergSeljordBøSauherad (Saude)NesVeumFyresdalMolandKviteseid (Hvidesøe)VrådalNissedalTreungenTørdal (Tørrisdal)Ytre FlåbygdLundeDrangedalHolla (Hollen)HelgenGjerpenMælumKilebygdaSolumPorsgrunnSiljan (Slemdal)SkienSkienPorsgrunnEidangerBrevikBambleStathelleLangesundSannidal (Sannikedal)SkåtøyKragerøTelemark Parishes 2x2.jpg


Map[edit | edit source]

Telemark County.jpg

Church Records/Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Censuses[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Siljudalen, Plassen, Vårlid, Dokka, Mjaugeto, Vårstulen, Hafsten, Svartelid, Kåsa, Hafstenkåsa, Deilda, Bakken, Grandås, Granvoll, Dalen, Håve, Merde, Flåten (Merdestugo), Vårås (Maurud), Masteholtet, Kåsalia, Sønstebø, Nautestret, Stålen, Mo, Aasberg, Skogheim, Holtet, Feste, Skogmo, Solripa, Jore, Nyheim, Tråer, Tråerkåsa, Hesledalen, Lia, Fyldpå, Slåte, Haugvoll, Enerstad, Slåte, Haugen, Nymoen, Romme, Seljord, Åsen, Seljordslia, Bøen, Flatin, Bøen, Skrikhaug, Elverhøy, Asketjønn, Kasin (Tinglia), Listul, Steinsrudkasin, Nord Steinsrud, Steinsrud (Halvorsgard), Storemyr, Bøen, Frenderud, Lien, Nille-Moen, Haugen, Sigurdsrud, Bjørnerud, Moen, Kasin, Nord-Moen, Høgelid, Berglia, Lien, Stugo, Køyta, Aasluten, Velta, Gryta, Tjønnås, Kallebekk, Elvestad, Sommerstad, Foss, Hauge, Sandhaug, Sandvoll, Solstad, Barstad, Myre, Borgelid, Bøen-Runningen, Heggelid, Haugvoll, Heggtveit, Hagen, Skogheim, Sletta, Fosso, Liset, Sollid, Bergtun, Fjellstad, Kyrkjevollen, Vonheim, Tjønntveit, Tjonebakken, Solhaug, Oterbekk, Oterholt, Mjelland, Øygarden, Mjaugeto, Mjellekås, Nordbø, Åsheim, Brekke, Oddrud, Øverland, Kasin, Skaret, Juvslia, Juvet, Åsen, Sætre, Dammen, Mosrygg, Kaalikåsa, Kasin, Nordli, Flåterud, Bergen, Myrvang, Furulund, Torud, Kaali, Lislerud, Bergsland, Grastjønn, Haugen, Solvang, Granheim, Flatland, Fosslid, Nybø, Vangen, Trollhaug, Solhaug, Engseth, Venås, Bakken, Steinbakken, Nystul, Rue, Veslestul, Tinnoset, Rinde, Garmo, Solheim, Lynnevik, Kleiva, Mjaugeto, Berge, Sundvoll, Finnekåsa, Busnes, Langøy, Sanden, Luen, Veslefet, Galten, Aavaldskås, Dalen, Vesleøy, Dalen, Tømmerkastet, Bråten, Bergli, Haugetrå, Skjødsåsen, Bjørnåsen, Øya, Tufte, Tuftekasin, Lisland, Aslakskås, Feten, Skogheim, Reisjå, Kroshøl, Venelund, Høymyr, Hegna, Nisi, Oskasin, Brendemo, Mikkelsgard, Nisimoen, Osberg, Væringhaug, Borgen, Venehaug, Neshammar, Furuly, Knausen, Osmark, Solbakken, Haugsjå, Væringroet, Furumo, Tinnsjå, Solheim, Elvarheim, Rønholt, Olesrud, Furuhaug, Aarud, Gjenga, Lia, Lie, Likasin, Lierunningen, Solvoll, Limoen, Sommerro, Liemoen, Guriby, Granli, Limoen, Lie-Runningen, Tho, Sandbakken, Thosand, Thomo, Bu, Bakkeroa, Strandbo, Stenstad, Svingen, Furuly, Strømmen, Skogul, Furuly, Tunstad, Kopsland, Grivloset, Evju, Kopslandmoen, Folsland, Lia, Høgevoll, Solhaug, Rugholt, Runningen, Jonsgard, Bekråskåsa, Runningen, Vassbotten, Aasheim, Jore, Lauvestad, Barlid, Skoglund, Bakka, Sandaroet, Tune, Solheim, Folserås, Odden, Haugene, Myra, Mastedalen, Kaasa, Vik, Runningen, Sollid, Stranna, Lyngdal, Delviken, Helleberg, Berg, Solberg, Ble, Anundskås, Engvoll, Barhaug, Myrvoll, Berglund, Midtbøen, Bergelia, Lindheim, Hellem, Stranden (Kobolt), Skogholt, Nedberg, Bergtun, Østlid, Espelien, Aaslid, Skogheim, Bolkesjø, Øygarden, Dalen, Dale, Sigurdskås, Vang, Skoglund, Granli, Bjørkheim, Vigstad, Bolkesjø, Jonrud, Dalviken, Aamot, Dokka, Heia, Bråten, Rua, Baklia, Volland, Runningen, Viermyr, Løkemoen, Løkja, Aasen, Myrløkja, Sigurdsrud, Aashagen, Gladheim, Buen, Bakken, Lillebuen, Værket, Huka, Grønbæk, Haugen, Øverlid, Rønningsdalen, Narverud, Solheim, Kasa, Skomakerrud, Tovsrud, Bråten, Storli.

Land Records[edit | edit source]

1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.

Military Records [edit | edit source]

Passenger Lists[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Telemark.jpg

Return to Norway Page


Taxation[edit | edit source]